The award of the Ivan Franko International Prize has been postponed

The Board of the Ivan Franko International Foundation has decided to postpone all the related procedures  determining the winner and award of the Ivan Franko International Prize in 2022 to the following year. Due to the fact that on February 24, 2022 the russian federation carried out an armed attack on Ukraine starting the war, it is impossible to implement activities and events planned in the calendar.
In 2022, the Prize Committee has received 14 scientific papers from Ukraine, Austria and Japan. All the works of the nominees for the 2022 award will be submitted to the nomination committees and expert councils after the cessation of hostilities in Ukraine.
After the end of the war, scientific papers and supporting documents for the Ivan Franko International Prize in 2023 shall be received in the due period – from January 15 to March 1, 2023 .
The winners of the Ivan Franko International Prize will be determined by members of the International Jury separately for 2022 and 2023. The award ceremony will traditionally take place on August 27 – Ivan Franko’s birthday – in his homeland.
We remind you that the Ivan Franko International Prize has been awarded annually since 2016. The winner of the Prize receives a cash prize and a gold badge.
In previous years, the awards were given to Cardinal of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church Lubomyr Husar, Professor Michael Moser (University of Vienna), Academician Oleh Shabliy (Ivan Franko National University in Lviv), Professor Yaroslava Melnyk (the Ukrainian Catholic University), Associate Professor Maria Grazia Bartolini (Eastern European University in Helsinki), Professor Ihor Serdyuk (Department of the History of Ukraine, Poltava National Pedagogical University named after V.G. Korolenko), Professor Leonid Tymoshenko (Drohobych Ivan Franko State Pedagogical University).

Our partners