Acceptance of research papers for the Ivan Franko International Prize has started

On January 15, the Ivan Franko International Foundation has started accepting  research papers for the Ivan Franko International Prize in 2022.

To participate in the competition, you must fill out and attach the required documents in electronic form, and three copies of the scientific work in printed form are sent by post to the address of the Prize Committee (01054, Kyiv, Volodymyrska Street, 48A, office 15).

Applicant research papers should be of international importance, belong to social and humanitarian sciences and be based on scientific understanding of historical or contemporary processes in the culture, politics and public life of Ukraine.

Scientific papers (monographs) and supporting documents will be accepted from January 15 to March 1, 2022. The monographs should be published in 2019-2021 and have an ISBN.

A research paper may be recommended for the Prize by an academic institution, a higher education institution of Ukraine and the countries with which Ukraine has diplomatic relations, or the previous winners of the Prize.

Research must comply with position of Ivan Franko, expressed during his life: “this work is thoroughly critical, the work of a cold mind, inspired by a great idea of entirety and originality…”

Requirements for participation in the competition for the Ivan Franko International Prize can be found at

The Ivan Franko International Prize has been awarded annually since 2016. Prize winners receive a cash award and a gold badge.

The awarding ceremony takes place annually on August 27 – the birthday of Ivan Franko in his homeland.

We will remind you that in 2016, the Prize was won by Lubomyr Husar, Major Archbishop Emeritus of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, Cardinal of the Catholic Church. In 2017, the winners were Michael Moser, Professor of the University of Vienna, President of the International Ukrainian Association and Oleh Shabliy, Academician, Professor Emeritus of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv. The winners in 2018 were Professor of Ukrainian Catholic University (Lviv) and Ukrainian Free University (Munich) Yaroslava Melnyk and Associate Professor of the Department of Eastern European History at the Helsinki University Johannes Remy. In 2019, the award went to Doctor of Philology at the University of Milan, Maria Grazia Bartolini. In 2020 the Prize was won by Ihor Serdyuk, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor of the Department of Ukrainian History of V. G.  Korolenko Poltava National Pedagogical University. In 2021, the Prize was won by Leonid Tymoshenko, Professor of Drohobych Ivan Franko Pedagogical University.

Our partners