The Nominees for the 2020 Ivan Franko International Prize Announced

38 scholars from Austria, Italy, Canada, Germany, Poland, Slovakia, Ukraine and the Czech Republic selected three nominees for the 2020 Ivan Franko International Prize.

As provided for in the International Expert Council Regulations, the research papers and annotations to them were assessed according to the following three criteria: the availability of innovative and original approaches to research; research conceptuality, systematicity and criticality; international context and level of research.

Based on the assessment, the Expert Council members commend the following research papers to the International Jury for consideration:

  • Monography “Little Grown Up: Child and Childhood in the 18th century Hetmanate” by IHOR SERDYUK, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor at the Department of History of Ukraine of Poltava National Pedagogical University named after V.G. Korolenko (Ukraine);
  • Monography “Ivan Franko’s Bends of Spirit: The Conception of the World. Ideology. Literature” by YEVHEN NAKHLIK, Director of the Ivan Franko Institute of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine” (Ukraine);
  • Monography “Beau Monde on Empire’s Edge: State and Stage in Soviet Ukraine” by MAYHILL K. FOWLER, PhD, Professor of History at Stetson University (USA).

All three nominated works will be submitted to the International Jury, 12 members of which will choose this year’s winner of the Ivan Franko International Prize. The meeting of the International Jury will be held with the support of the Renaissance Foundation.

The V Award Ceremony will be held at Ivan Franko’s homeland – in Drohobych – on August 27, on Ivan Franko’s birthday.

It should be reminded that in 2020, 19 research papers have been submitted to win the Ivan Franko International Prize.

We will remind you that in 2016, the Prize was won by Lubomyr Husar, Major Archbishop Emeritus of the Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, Cardinal of the Catholic Church. In 2017, the winners were Michael Moser, Professor of the University of Vienna, President of the International Ukrainian Association and Oleh Shabliy, Academician, Professor Emeritus of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv. The winners in 2018 were Professor of Ukrainian Catholic University (Lviv) and Ukrainian Free University (Munich) Yaroslava Melnyk and Associate Professor of the Department of Eastern European History at the Helsinki University Johannes Remy. In 2019, the award went to Doctor of Philology at the University of Milan, Maria Grazia Bartolini (Italy).


Our partners