The winners of the Ivan Franko International Prize 2018 awarded In Drohobych

The third ceremony of the winners awarding of the Ivan Franko International Prize was held in the People’s House named after Ivan Franko in Drohobych on August 27.

The nomination “For significant achievements in the field of Ukrainian studies” was awarded to the doctor of philological sciences, the actual member of the Shevchenko Scientific Society, professor of the Ukrainian Catholic University (Lviv) and the Ukrainian Free University (Munich), Head of the Department of Philology of the Ukrainian Catholic University – YAROSLAV MELNYK.

In the nomination “For significant achievements in the field of social sciences and humanities” the award was given to the assistant professor of Eastern European History at the University of Helsinki – JOHANNES REMY.

Roland Franko, the Head of the board of Ivan Franko International Fund, said in his speech that he dreams that the prize, which bears the name of the Ukrainian scholar and thinker, would take an honorary place in the scientific world and raised the greatness of Ivan Franko to a high standard.

“Today our prize has become a phenomenon that is new for Ukraine. My grandfather left us a great heritage. Now we have to study it. Ivan Franko International Prize – is becoming more and more popular every year, it is a great deal that opens science to the world “, – said Roland Franko.

Ihor Kurus, Director of the Ivan Franko International Fund, noted that the Fund’s activities and missions were supported by Ukrainian and foreign scientists, in particular of America, Canada and European countries. Thus, in 2018, 21 scientific papers from 17 universities of 4 countries were submitted to the Committee of the Prize: Great Britain, Germany, Serbia and Ukraine. The nomination committees and the Council of Experts included scientists from 11 countries of the world, in particular from Great Britain, Canada, Germany, Austria, Poland, Czech Republic, Croatia, Slovakia, Israel, Italy, the USA and Ukraine.

“Ivan Franko International Prize is gradually becoming the Ukrainian international competition ground among humanitarian scientists. Here, the Fundadheres to the highest level of objectivity, international academic and ethical standards “, – said the Fund’s director.

Ihor Kurus also expressed gratitude to the benefactors who donated to the bonus fund of the Ivan Franko International Prize, which this year amounted to 400 thousand UAH, and supported the sustainable development of an important Ukrainian undertaking in the world.

Members of the International Jury – Taras Vintskovskyi, Doctor of Historical Sciences, Professor of I. Mechnikov Odessa National University,and Mykola Mushynka, Doctor of Sciences, Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, professor of the University of Prešov – presented the works of the winners.

“I want to note that the monograph by Johannes Remy has become a milestone event in the global historical science, both by external attribution and semantic content,” emphasized Professor Taras Vintskovskyi presenting the work by J. Remy.

In his turn, Doctor of Sciences, academician Mykola Mushynka, presenting the work by Yaroslav Melnyk “… And the last part of the way. Ivan Franko in 1908-1916.”, noted that” … I have not read anything like that about Ivan Franko’s life yet… “.

The ceremony of awarding was attended by members of the international jury, scholars from Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, international delegations, representatives of the diplomatic corps, scholars of Franko’s heritage, representatives of the authorities, the public and the family of Ivan Franko.

Taras Kuchma,the Drohobych city mayor, and Nadia Skotna, rector of the Drohobych Ivan Franko State Pedagogical University addressed the guests with a welcoming speech.

Congratulations to the prize winners and Ivan Franko International Fund was sent by Taras Bahriy, the President of the Ukrainian Canadian Congress – Toronto Branch.

The ceremonial part finished by laying flowers to the Ivan Franko monument near the city’s People’s House.

Let us recall that in 2016, the first winner of the Ivan Franko International Prize became – Archbishop – Emeritus, ex-head of the UGCC Lubomyr Husar as the author of the scientific monograph “Andrey Sheptytsky Galician Metropolitan (1901-1944), a forerunner of ecumenism”.

іn 2017 in nomination “For significant achievements in the field of Ukrainian studies” – won Michael Moser, Professor of the Institute of Slavic Studies at the University of Vienna, with the monograph “New Contributions to the History of the Ukrainian Language”;

in 2017 in the nomination “For significant achievements in the field of social sciencesand humanities” – Honored Professor of the Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, academician Oleh Shabliy with scientific work “Social geography” in 2 volumes.

For reference. Ivan Franko International Prize is an honorary recognition of scientific discoveries, significant achievements and merits of scholars in the field of social sciences and Ukrainian studies. The founder of the Ivan Franko International Prize is his grandson, Roland Franko.

Our partners