People eligible to receive the Prize

People eligible to submit research papers

Requirements for the scientific papers

Process of nomination

Selection of research papers

Archive of added works

Recent events

Admission of academic works for Ivan Franco International Prize in 2018 has started

On January 15, Ivan Franko International Foundation began accepting academic works and supporting documents for Ivan Franko International Prize.

Ivan Franko International Prize features two nominations: for significant advances (achievements) in Ukrainian Studies, for significant advances (achievements) in humanities and social sciences.

Academic works for the Prize may be submitted by academic institutions, higher educational institutions of Ukraine and countries of the world Ukraine has diplomatic relations with, as well as prize winners of previous years.

The academic work must be accompanied with:

  • a decision of the academic institution, higher educational institution on submission the academic work for the Prize;
  • a reference for the person whose academic work is being submitted for the Prize, with the contact data of the applicant for the Prize;
  • extended abstract to the academic work (in Ukrainian and English);
  • personal written consent of the author of the academic work to participate in the competition for the Prize.

Academic papers should be sent in 3 copies to the Foundation’s address: 48a Volodymyrska St, office 15, Kyiv, 01030, supporting documents are to be sent by e-mail to:

The main criterion for selecting applicants for the Prize is the professional competence in the scientific field and the international level of scientific research, regardless of age, gender, religious or political preferences or ethnic background of the author.

Academic works are accepted until March 1, 2018.

For more information on the conditions for submission of the documents for the International Franco Ivan Franko Prize, refer to the Foundation’s website

The prize was founded in 2015. The main objective of the Prize is to promote comprehensive study of Ivan Franko’s creative, scientific, social activities, to encourage scholars from around the world to carry out relevant research in the field of social sciences and Ukrainian Studies.

The Prize winners of previous years:

in 2016 archbishop emeritus, former head of the UGCC Lyubomyr Huzar with the scientific monograph “Andrei Sheptytsky Galician Metropolitan (1901-1944), a forerunner of ecumenism”;

in 2017 in the nomination “For significant advances (achievements) in Ukrainian Studies” — professor of the Institute for Slavic Studies at the University of Vienna, Michael Mozer with the monograph “New Contributions to the History of the Ukrainian Language”.

in the nomination “for significant advances (achievements) in humanities and social sciences” — Honorary Professor of Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, academician Oleh Shabliy with the academic work “Social Geography” in 2 volumes.

The inducement fund in 2016 and 2017 was UAH 500,000.

Our partners